# **HIV Community Planning Council**

## **COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, July 1, 2020 Zoom Meeting 3:00-5:00 pm

Committee Members Present: Ben Cabangun, Helen Lin, Lily Krutel, Ney Nascimento, Richard Sullivan, Eric Sutter

(Co-Chair), Laura Thomas

**Council Member Present:** Kevin Hutchcroft (Gov't Co-Chair)

Committee Members Absent: Orin Allen [A], Juba Kalamka [E], Lee Jewell [E], T.J. Lee-Miyaki [A]

Others Present: Stephen Spano (HCAP)

Support Staff Present: Melina Clark, David Jordan, Mark Molnar

### **Minutes**

#### 1. Introductions

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 pm by Co-Chair Sutter. Everyone introduced themselves and quorum was established.

## 2. Review/Approve July 1st 2020 DRAFT Agenda – VOTE

The July 1st 2020 DRAFT Agenda was reviewed and approved by consensus.

# 3. Review/Approve June 3<sup>rd</sup> 2020 DRAFT Minutes-VOTE

The June 3<sup>rd</sup> 2020 DRAFT Minutes were reviewed and approved by consensus.

#### 4. Announcements

None.

#### 5. Public Comment

None

# 6. HCAP Report

- Stephen Spano updated the Committee on the HIV Consumer Advocacy Project (HCAP), including:
  - There is no written report this month.
  - o Not a lot of closes cases- report will look quite similar to last month.
  - Looking at some resolutions that will hopefully provide some systemic change.
  - There have been some issues with housing providers that have been opportunistic of the current pandemic, such as reducing services.
- CM Sutter spoke to partial service delivery.

## 7. Carry Forward Funding Allocation- VOTE

- The group reviewed last year's Needs Assessment recommendations in light of the current carry forward recommendations:
  - o One-time durable medical equipment
  - o Augment mental health services to address issues around aging.
  - o Intense case management for aging population

- The group agreed that one-time durable medical equipment seems like the most logical place for carry forward funds.
- Stephen Spano spoke to the need for dental care.
- CS Jordan spoke to vouchers.
- MOTION: CM Thomas moves to recommend the HHS Carry Forward Recommendations for approval.
- CM Sutter seconds the motion.
- MOTION PASSES by roll call vote: See column [1] for vote breakdown.

### 8. Needs Assessment and COLA Update

- CS Jordan noted that before Shelter in place CM Nascimento was working on translating a survey for the Portuguese speaking COLA. Council Staff is working on updating this process to adapt to shelter in place restrictions. The COLA will still be incentivized.
- CS Jordan reported:
  - o He has reached out to Larkin and is coordinating getting a youth group together for a zoom call.
  - o It may be more efficient to provide collaborating partners with survey and ask them to distribute.
  - o Meal delivery services could be a great resource for clients given the shelter in place restrictions.
  - o Working on adding qualitative component to survey.
- CM Sutter spoke to some clients not having addresses to deliver food to.
- The group settled on Safeway gift cards as incentive.
  - o CS Jordan noted that the usual amount is \$25. Since we will reach less folks this year, we can increase the amount to \$50.
- CM Lin spoke to Safeway grocery delivery. At her work they contact each client, ask them what they want to order, arrange deliveries for each client. It's a lot to do for weekly support groups, but they do have a nice delivery service. Only for groceries, not for deli food.

### 9. Next Meeting Date & Agenda Items- VOTE

The next Community Engagement Committee meeting is tentatively scheduled for Wednesday, August 1<sup>st</sup> 2020 at 25 Van Ness 8<sup>th</sup> floor Conference Room from 3-5 pm.

### 10. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:32pm by Co-Chair Cabangun.

# <u>Community Engagement Committee</u> HIV Community Planning Council

Roll Call: P=Present; A=Absent; E=Excused; L=Leave of Absence

Votes: **Y=**Yes; **N=**No; **B=**Abstain; **R=**Recused (deduct from quorum)

July 1, 2020		roll	[1]	[2]	[3]	[4]	[5]	[6]	[7]	[8]	[9]	[10]
1.	Orin Allen	А	-									
2.	Ben Cabangun	Р	Υ									
3.	Lee Jewell	E	-									

4.	Juba Kalamka	Е	-					
5.	Lily Krutel	Р	Υ					
6.	Helen Lin	Р	Υ					
7.	T.J. Lee-Miyaki	А	-					
8.	Ney Nascimento	Р	Υ					
9.	Richard Sullivan	Р	Υ					
10.	Eric Sutter (Co-Chair)	Р	Y					
11.	Laura Thomas	Р	Y					
	Kevin Hutchcroft	Р	-					
		L	ı	ı				
	Ayes	5						
	Nayes	5						
	Abstain	1						
	Recusa	I						
	Tota	I						