# **HIV Community Planning Council**

### **COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT COMMITTEE**

Wednesday, April 7, 2021 Zoom Meeting 3:00-4:30 pm

Committee Members Present: Ben Cabangun, T.J. Lee-Miyaki, Derrick Mapp (Co-Chair), Ney Nascimento, Richard

Sullivan (Co-Chair), Eric Sutter, Laura Thomas

Council Member Present: Thomas Knoble (Gov't Co-Chair)

Committee Members Absent: Orin Allen [A], Juba Kalamka [A], Lily Krutel [E], Lee Jewell [A]

Others Present: Beth Neary (HHS), Stephen Spano (HCAP)

Support Staff Present: Melina Clark, Valarie Etukudo, David Jordan

#### **Minutes**

#### 1. Introductions

The meeting was called to order at 3:03 pm by CM Mapp. Everyone introduced themselves and quorum was established.

## 2. Review/Approve April 7<sup>th</sup> 2021 DRAFT Agenda – VOTE

The April 7<sup>th</sup> 2021 DRAFT Agenda was reviewed and approved by consensus.

# 3. Review/Approve March 3<sup>rd</sup> 2021 DRAFT Minutes – VOTE

The March 3<sup>rd</sup> 2021 DRAFT Minutes were reviewed and approved by consensus.

### 4. Announcements

None.

#### 5. Public Comment

• Beth Neary (HHS) states that HHS received their Ryan White Part A award.

### 6. HCAP Report - Stephen Spano

The Committee will receive the monthly update from the HIV Consumer Advocacy Project.

• Stephen reported there are clients experiencing issues with rent payments because some of their Ryan White funds aren't being accepted and he is working to support clients in addressing this issue.

#### 7. Needs Assessment/COLA Targets – VOTE

The Committee will discuss the possible target populations for 2021 COLA.

MOTION: CM Mapp motioned to incentivize upcoming COLAs. MOTION PASSED: By a roll call vote. See column (1) for breakdown.

MOTION: CM Mapp motioned to approve ASL language capacity services and current and former SIP residents as 2021 COLA targets.

MOTION PASSED: By consensus. See column (2) for breakdown.

## 8. Next Meeting Date & Agenda Items – VOTE

The next Community Engagement Committee meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 5<sup>th</sup> 2021 from 3:00-4:30 pm, Zoom.

## 9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:23 pm by CM Mapp.

# <u>Community Engagement Committee</u> HIV Community Planning Council

Roll Call: **P**=Present; **A**=Absent; **E**=Excused; **L**=Leave of Absence

Votes: **Y=**Yes; **N=**No; **B=**Abstain; **R=**Recused (deduct from quorum)

April 7, 2021		roll	[1]	[2]	[3]	[4]	[5]	[6]	[7]	[8]	[9]	[10]
1.	Orin Allen	А	-	-								
2.	Ben Cabangun	Р	Υ	Υ								
3.	Lee Jewell	Α	-	-								
4.	Juba Kalamka	Α	-	-								
5.	Lily Krutel	E	_	-								
6.	Derrick Mapp (Co-Chair)	Р	Υ	Υ								
7.	T.J. Lee-Miyaki	Р	Υ	Υ								
8.	Ney Nascimento	Р	Υ	Υ								
9.	Richard Sullivan (Co-Chair)	Р	Υ	Υ								
10.	Eric Sutter	Р	Υ	Υ								
11.	Laura Thomas	Р	Υ	Υ								

Ayes		7	7			
Nayes						
Abstain						
Recusal						
Total		7	7			