## **HIV Community Planning Council**

**FULL COUNCIL MEETING** 

Monday May 24<sup>th</sup>, 2021 Zoom Meeting 4:00-6:00 pm

HIV Community Planning Council Members Present: Chuck Adams, Bill Blum, Jackson Bowman, Ben Cabangun, Cesar Cadabes, Ed Chitty, Elaine Flores, Matt Geltmaker, David Gonzalez (Co-Chair), Paul Harkin, Bruce Ito, Lee Jewell, Juba Kalamaka, Thomas Knoble (Co-Chair), Derrick Mapp, Jessie Murphy, Irma Parada (Co-Chair), John Paul Soto, Richard Sullivan, Laura Thomas

HIV Community Planning Council Members Absent: Orin Allen [E], Billie Cooper [E], Cicily Emerson [E], Ron Hernandez [A], Kevin Hutchcroft [LOA], Lily Krutel [A], T.J. Lee-Miyaki [A], Helen Lin [E], Ney Nascimento [A], Ken Pearce [LOA], Mike Shriver [LOA], Charles Siron [E], Gwen Smith [E], Eric Sutter [A]

**Others Present:** Nicole Gracey (SOA), Barbara Green-Ajufo (UCSF), Bill Hirsh (ALRP), Enver Rahmanov (Shanti), Stephen Spano (ALRP), Ande Stone (SFAF), Wanda Vasquez (Jansenn)

**DPH Staff Present**: Katie Burk (DPH), Zachary Davenport (DPH), Hana Hjord (DPH), Eileen Loughran (DPH), Beth Neary (HHS)

Support Staff Present: Melina Clark, Ali Cone, Valarie Etukudo, David Jordan, Mark Molnar

#### **Minutes**

1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call. Introduction of Public. Co-Chair Welcome.

The meeting was called to order at 4:04 pm by CM Parada. Roll was called and quorum was established.

2. Review and Approve May 24th 2021 DRAFT Agenda – VOTE

The May 24<sup>th</sup> 2021 DRAFT Agenda was reviewed and approved by consensus.

3. Review and Approve April 26th 2021 DRAFT Minutes – VOTE

The April 26<sup>th</sup> 2021 DRAFT Minutes were reviewed and approved by consensus.

- 4. Announcements
  - None.

#### 5. Public Comment

 Ande Stone – Shared the budget asks and priorities for the HIV Advocacy Network and their updates. Would like council members to email the mayor and board of supervisors in support of the budget asks and to share this information with their networks.

- CM Cabangun SFAF last month approved a fiscal organization budget that has impacted the
  workforce structure which may impact the partnerships and collaboration with the HIV
  Community Planning Council. SFAF teams are working to minimize impact. CM Cabangun is
  available to address questions and concerns that anyone on the council may have.
- Stephen Spano Please call the mayor's office and board of supervisor's budget committee to support expanding mental health services for HIV survivors, maintaining prevention safety nets, housing subsidies for people living with HIV/AIDS, and funding overdose prevention sites.
- Zachary Davenport Reports a message from CM Krutel, a goodbye letter and departure from the council.

#### 6. General Updates

The Council will receive updates from HHS & CPG (Bill Blum), CAEAR (R. Lee Jewell), CHEP (Thomas Knoble), and ETE (Richard Sullivan).

- CAEAR R. Lee Jewell
  - o Executive budget proposal will be released on May 27, 2021.
  - Appropriates timeline was released.
  - o Provided update of government committee leaders presentations and proposals
  - Data collection for gender identity and sexual identity data for CDC behavior health risk factor system, this data affects policy and funding decisions.
  - o HHS ordered pharmaceutical companies to restore discount programs.
  - o CAEAR will have a CAEAR policy call at the end of June.
- HHS Update Bill Blum
  - HHS is applying for Ryan White Part C.
  - o Provided COVID-19 updates and COVID-19 vaccine eligibility criteria.
  - o Mobile Blood Draw Project pilot study will likely begin in July 2021.
  - o Trauma informed care trainings will take place with motivational interview framework.
- CHEP Thomas Knoble
  - o Provided CHEP update on COVID-19 CHEP efforts. HCV, HIV, and STD trainings took place and CHEP will have future trainings.
- ETE Steering Committee Richard Sullivan
  - Facente Consulting discussed that the Community Health Leadership Initiative (CHLI) has vision for HIV, HCV, STD workforce development and ideas. Program ideas will be presented to SFDPH.

#### 7. Drug User Health – Katie Burk, Hanna Hjord, Eileen Loughran

The Council will receive a presentation from CHEP re. drug user health.

- SFDPH: Overall Goals and Strategies
- Impetus for the Creation of Drug User Health Initiative (DUHI)
- DUHI: An Integrated Model
- Drug User Health Initiative (DUHI) Mission and Vision Statements

- Community Based Naloxone Distribution: The DOPE Project of the National Harm Reduction Coalition
- DOPE Distribution Structure and Strategy
  - o Syringe Access Programs, DOPE Partner Sites, Individual Distro, Community Distro
- Additional Naloxone Access Points
  - o CBHS Pharmacy, Project Friend, DHCS NDP (for non-profits), DPH Clinic Pilot
- SRO Project and Activities
- Shelter in Place (SIP) Hotels and Data Highlight
- Harm Reduction Training Institute (HRTI) and Contractual Requirements
- Ongoing Engagement with People Who Use Drugs
- ETE Mobile Contingency Management
- Community Health Response Team (CHRT)
- CHEP Naloxone Training
- Next Steps/New Initiatives

# 8. Break

# 9. Small Groups

The Council will break into small groups to discuss the Secret Client model and its potential for use in SF.

#### 10. Small Group Debrief

 Representatives from each small group reported the thoughts shared in the small group regarding the Secret Client model.

## 11. Drug Sobering Center – VOTE

The Council will consider a motion from Steering to support implementation of the Drug Sobering Center.

CS Molnar explains that this motion is for the HCPC to be added to a list of supporters for this
program.

MOTION: To support implementation of the Drug Sobering Center. MOTION PASSED: By consensus. See column (1) for breakdown.

## 12. Next Meeting Date & Adjournment

Meeting adjourned by CM Parada at 6:00 pm.

# Full Council Meeting HIV Community Planning Council

Roll Call: **P**=Present; **A**=absent; **E**=Excused; **L**=Leave of Absence Votes: Votes: **Y**=Yes; **N**=No; **B**=Abstain; **R**=Recused (deduct from quorum)

Date: May 24, 2021	[roll]	[1]	[2]	[3]	[4]	[5]	[6]	[7]	[8]	[9]	[10]
Chuck Adams	Р	Υ									
Orin Allen	Е	-									
Bill Blum	Р	Υ									
Jackson Bowman	Р	Υ									
Ben Cabangun	А	-									
Cesar Cadabes	Р	Υ									
Ed Chitty	Р	Υ									
Billie Cooper	Е	-									
Cicily Emerson	Е	-									
Elaine Flores	Р	Υ									
Matt Geltmaker	Р	Υ									
David Gonzalez	Р	Υ									
Kevin Hutchcroft (Co- Chair)/ Thomas Knoble (Co-Chair)	LOA/ P	-/Y									
Paul Harkin	Р	Υ									
Ron Hernandez	А	-									
Bruce Ito	Р	Υ									
Lee Jewell	Р	Υ									
Juba Kalamka	Р	Υ									
Lily Krutel	А	-									
Helen Lin	Е	-									
Derrick Mapp	Р	Υ									
T.J. Lee-Miyaki	А	-									
Jessie Murphy	Р	Υ									

Ney Nascimento	Α	-					
Irma Parada	Р	Υ					
Ken Pearce	LOA	-					
Mike Shriver	LOA	-					
Charles Siron	Е	-					
Gwen Smith	Е	1					
John Paul Soto	Р	Υ					
Richard Sullivan	Р	Υ					
Eric Sutter	Α	ı					
Laura Thomas	Р	Υ					
Ayes							
Nayes							
Abstain							
Recusal							
Total							